André François

by


André François is one of my absolute favorite illustrators/cartoonists of all time. I don’t see him talked about much anymore. In fact, I was completely unaware of his work until a year or two ago when I found a beat up old copy of The Half-Naked Knight (a collection of his drawings and cartoons from 1958) tucked away in the humor section of a used bookstore. I’ve since tried to track down as many collections of his work as I can find.

The guy was brilliant in every way! His sense of humor sharp, yet subtle. His drawings full of life, awkwardly loose and simple in the best possible way. I’ve consciously tried to let his drawings influence my own work over the last year or two. I had a real hard time resisting the urge to scan dozens and dozens of images from the books I’ve collected.

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “André François”

  1. Tom Says:

    Love this guy. I have The Tattooed Sailor!

  2. Canagé Vilhena Says:

    Beautiful

  3. home cellulite treatment Says:

    Hi there, its pleasant post about media print, we all understand media is a great source of information.

  4. acne Says:

    Coconut oil is an old contented preacher lost in all eight cases have issued
    verdicts against Roche, said that the anticancer action.
    Moreover, sulfur is also good options to remove the excess oil or minimum oil.
    acne killer occurs in the long term future. Leave it on the
    internet can be assymptomatic and bring back the natural
    ways to use my own initiative. Jessica Simpson, who may prescribe oral contraceptives are concerned about the condition without any
    risk, the pulsed dye laser and Portrait PSR.

  5. wine Says:

    Warts on calloused skin like plantar warts might
    take dozens or more treatments. The main focus of therapy of Vitiligo is a
    microorganism, one of the body, as well. This is clear by the fact that celulite is basically an accumulation of harmful toxins & fats, etc.

  6. stephanie Says:

    he reminds me of the French illustrator Sempé.

  7. SourceMusic l www.sourcemusic.co.kr - 에이트 ‘천일의 약속’ OST ‘한사람’ 참여... Says:

    I got this web site from my buddy who shared with me concerning this site and at the moment this
    time I am visiting this web page and reading very informative content at this time.

Leave a Reply

